Saudade leaving the shed 4pm May 16th 2011

Wow… finally at 4pm yesterday afternoon we were moved out of the shed. Had we really been in there since Dec 22nd 2010 ? I had a similar feeling when we actually took the boat out of the shed in Fano for the first time in April 2008. This time however the boat had plenty of room, so with the travel lift she slowly came out of the large shed we had been in for so long. There had been a long wait of anticipation all day as we had arrived and expected her to move earlier on in the day but no the preparation was long and slow but they did make sure to protect the paint job which we all appreciated as it was only a week old.  Slowly she came out and then had to be turned and put over the pit where our keel now hangs. We have to be over this area, on containers so that the engineers can finish off the work on the changes made to the keel during the winter months. It is all in aid of us being a faster, stiffer race boat when we are racing against our arch rival, Visione.

It was quite exciting going onboard today having natural light flood through the port holes, coach roof and hatches ! Might seem trivial but it means a lot after having been stuck inside for so long. 

However, reality kicks in as time is running out and we have to get everything ready for not only the regatta but also for the owner to arrive next week to come and partake in the sea trials that we have to do after we go back into the water. What it means for me is stocking up and being ready to cook again  ! Having done one major stock up of dry stores, I had to finish this off with some items I just could not get last week, so I shot off to another supermarket where there is also a small health food shop so I could get a few more things, before heading back to the large cash and carry to do a beer stock up. This I knew was going to be large as I need to get guest beer and race beer… 

Beer trolley

Beer trolley

It may seem like a large quantity of beer to be hauling up on the boat for a regatta that only runs for 4 days with 2 day of training but we do have some thirsty boys onboard ! We get through it all and then two weeks later have another regatta so I guess I will be stocking up again for the next regatta ! 

As I got back to the boat I had to get the beer into a scissor lift with the help of Pete, the Mate, and then with more help on deck we managed to get it all onto the boat and then away in lockers. Tomorrow will be water, coke, poweraid, ice T …

Getting things ready for dinner

Getting things ready for dinner

Back to the apartment to do dinner with some of the tomatoes I  bought ! Well I just could not resist the cherry tomatoes, just one crate ! It might be a large crate but I was eating them the moment they were on my trolley… just like eating sweets/candy to me … delicious.

Tonight though was pork spare ribs, risoni ( rice pasta) with cherry tomatoes, mozzarella and basil with olive oil, and steamed asparagus with mashed boiled eggs and crispy prosciutto.

It all went down well with the hungry crew when they came back from the boat after a long day onboard.

Now I am baking some banana bread as we in all the apartments we had some bananas that no one was going to eat but they were just perfect for banana bread so as I write this down the smell of the banana bread cooking is wafting around the room…. I will have to run down to the other apartments and make a delivery of banana bread tonight so they can all have some for breakfast … or midnight snacks!

Banana Bread

a very simple recipe I use so much with the old bananas that I have onboard. It is delicious straight from the oven warm, the next day or toasted a few days later with lashings of butter !

3 brown soft bananas ( or more up to 6 )

2 eggs, whisked lightly together

1 cup brown sugar

2 cups plain flour

1 tsp baking powder

1 cup broken walnuts

Preheat the oven to gas mark 4/180/360

Grease a loaf tin 

Mash the bananas in a bowl and add the beaten eggs and mix well. Stir in the sugar, and then the flour and baking powder. Finally stir in the walnuts and pour into the prepared tin and back in the oven for 50 mins. Turn it once during the baking.

Enjoy




 

