The calm still waters of the last few days has gone, the wind is here but the sunrise is still great… always is in Sardinia. The boats are rocking around gently in the Marina di Porto Cervo where we are all docked, side by side, with a monster of a motor yacht at the end of the dock towering above us all, yet our masts tower above theirs!

Once we had wind yesterday we went out and trained with our spinnaker and Code 2 up and down, gybing and then tacking up wind to make sure we could do all the maneovers smoothly and together as a team as some of our regular race crew were unable to come to this regatta so we have some new faces onboard… We all came in a little browner or burnt from the sun having been out there for 5 hrs with the sun beating down on us the sails and the water so there is no way we could get away from it, so here starts the uniform tan lines !

Blackened chicken sandwiches were a hit, as was the chocolate tiramisu cake which I had thrown together earlier on in the day whilst we waited for the wind to build so we could leave the dock…. and for today well it will be mozzarella, and grilled vegetable sandwiches with prosciutto and home-made Genovese pesto. My baker prepares the Panini for me today 25 Panini Arabo, which is a light bread roll similar to a pitta bread but heavier, and I also take integrale/ whole-wheat rolls, and I have plenty of tortilla wraps that I have brought over from the Caribbean that I know lots of people like as a change to the rolls…. so the choice is there !

I have some more zucchini/courgette in the oven roasting as the coffee has brewed the fruit is cut up and the butter is waiting to be made into a cake for tomorrow as yesterday I whipped up a chocolate, pear and orange cake for today Gingerbread men await in the fridge to be rolled out and baked this morning but I fear I am running out of time as I look at the clock in my porthole in the galley … 6.45 am there is quite a bit to do today as we are racing and today tensions will be high with the strong winds and everyone wanting to do well in this regatta

On that note… I am out of here off to have a shower, and start the rest of the day in uniform as opposed to my yoga gear !  Go Saudade go … Race Day 1..

Chocolate, Pear and Orange Cake

250 gms softened butter

1 cup sugar

4 eggs

1 tsp baking powder

2 cups Self Raising Flour

grated zest of an orange

1/2 cup chocolate chips

1 large ripe pear diced

4 tablespoon milk

Butter and line a tray bake tin 30 x 25cm

Preheat the oven 180/gas mark 4

Beat the butter and sugar until light and fluffy and slowly add the eggs one at a time beating well between them.

Beat in the baking powder and then fold in the flour gently before adding the chocolate, orange peel and pears. Slowly add the milk and then spoon into the prepared pan and bake for 45- 50 mins until a skewer comes out clean.

Cool in the tin for 10 mins and then turn out onto a cooling rack

